Love Like A Penguin

1-5-13vsyduI’m sure many of you are aware of the tradition of penguins showing their affection with a pebble. It might be the most adorable behavior in the animal kingdom. The male searches for the perfect pebble to give to his penguin crush and hopes for her to accept it. That’s a major leap of faith to put that kind of time and effort into something that you don’t necessarily know the result. This is just one of many reasons why I love penguins aside from the fact that they are the best-dressed animal!

It’s almost as if penguins live their life according to perhaps one of my favorite movie quotes of all time.

“You know, sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage. Just literally twenty seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.” – We Bought A Zoo

I mean let’s face it for a penguin that is just about as brave a move you can get and I greatly respect them for that. All I know is I need to hold that line a little closer to my heart and I owe penguins the thanks for that.

I have a tendency to ramble, as many of you who have met me probably know. I’m also a little awkward to boot so you can imagine the fantastically funny sitcom episodes that make up my life.

The crazy thing is even around the most amazing girl in my life I still have those slight feelings of awkwardness and rambling happens. I guess every time I’m around her I’m hit with the realization of how amazing this all is and I become your quintessential pinnacle moment of a romantic comedy.

I am getting better at keeping the awkwardness at a normal level though but I suppose it will always be a small part of me. Luckily, she finds it funny and as such I do believe she’s earned a nomination to sainthood.

If I were a penguin I would gladly present her with the most beautiful pebble I could find without hesitation! So thank you penguins for reminding me of the importance of courage and bravery and thank you Matt Damon for a great quote to remember it by.

Leave a Reply

