Whimsy and Polka Dots: What’s Not to Like!

“I brake for birds, I rock a lot of polka dots, and I find it fundamentally strange that you’re not a dessert person.”

– Jess from New Girl

A friend recently tweeted this quote and as an avid fan of the show New Girl I couldn’t help but laugh knowing the character known as Jess portrayed by Zooey Deschanel. She is a quirky, fun loving, very random but absolutely lovable character full of whimsy. She makes being awkward awesome, which it’s a philosophy I’ll gladly prescribe to.

Soon after seeing this I tweeted that I hope to marry a girl like Jess one day.   Can you imagine the amazing awkwardness that would come out of that pairing?

Within the silliness of this quote though I think there is a whole lot of sense. While birds can fly, so the odds of hitting one is slim, it’s a nice courtesy to brake for them just in case. It shows a sense of caring for nature and that’s an admirable trait.

As for wearing lots of polka dots, while I don’t own anything polka-dotted, I don’t see why it’s a bad thing. After all there is a song all about a “yellow polka dot bikini”. Even though I may be fashion senseless, from what I can tell it’s a simple yet elegant pattern with it’s own sense of whimsy.

Finally, the last part of the quote mentions how strange it is to find a person who doesn’t like dessert, and you’ve have to admit who doesn’t like dessert? Dessert is one of life’s greatest pleasures so it really makes you wonder who isn’t a dessert person.

So when I think about it, yes, marrying a girl like Jess would be amazing. With all that whimsy there would never be a dull moment and then my awkward moments wouldn’t feel so awkward and that’s a match made in heaven!

Leave a Reply

