If I Could Move Anywhere

As a lifetime Ohioan, I have grown quite accustomed to our bipolar weather and for the most part, I have accepted it. Winter is not so bad; I do not really mind the snow so much as I despise when temperatures drop below 30 degrees. I can dream about leaving the state but one thing stands in my way, the city of Cleveland. I love that city so very much, although I will admit most of that love stems from the fact that it is the home of my beloved Cleveland Indians but there are so many other great things about the city on the lake. Nevertheless, that is enough about that because this post is not about my undying love for C-town. I decided to write up a list of all the states I’d love to move to if the situation arose. Therefore, without further ado here goes nothing

1. Tennessee
I will be honest I don’t know a lot about Tennessee but my main reason for ranking Tennessee first is Nashville.  Because let’s face it what isn’t awesome about Nashville? Although I’ve never been, everybody I know who has visited rants and raves about the place from its status as a mecca for musicians and bars to the beautiful natural surroundings. Nashville isn’t the only reason that Tennessee tops the list though, the state as a whole seems like an absolute wonderful place. The one part of the state I have been to was Chattanooga, where I took a riverboat ride down the Tennessee River, which felt like the perfect southern experience. All around from my brief time spent there and what I’ve heard from many people over the years Tennessee just sounds perfect.
2. North Carolina

North Carolina for a long time was my number one destination to escape the Buckeye State and it is still close to my heart but my recent appreciation for country music and bars has since propelled Tennessee ahead. Still though, there is so much to love about North Carolina. I have traversed the state pretty well in my travels but I’d have to say my favorite part is Chapel Hill. Although my visit to Cape Hatteras was probably the part of the state I loved the most, alas I don’t think that area is much for year round living. North Carolina just like its neighboring state to the north, Virginia, has a mix of North & South in it, which I think is what adds to the appeal being a Northerner by birth but a Southerner by heart. Oh and to top it all off they have the tallest lighthouse, which is pretty cool too.

3. Georgia

Georgia is third on this list for one very simple reason, Savannah. Now I have visited Atlanta as well which is a nice city and all but, what really attracts me to the Peach State is all that Savannah has to offer. I was able to visit the city for a few hours on a return trip from spring break and I just instantly fell in love. Pardon me while I history nerd out, the architecture of the buildings was absolutely amazing from a historical standpoint and beautiful from an aesthetic outlook. On top of that, the city itself was gorgeous including the parks and the bay, which overlooks the Savannah River. Savannah is the epitome of the Old South, which then makes sense why I’d fit it at #3.

4. Louisiana
When you think of the Deep South Louisiana is what comes to mind and even though I have never set foot in that state I get the feeling, it is a place I wouldn’t mind living. My brother spent over a year living in New Orleans for school, I have a cousin living in Lafayette now, and they both speak highly of the state and all it has to offer. Obviously, New Orleans has the reputation as a huge party city especially for Mardi Gras, which I would really love to one day attend but it has so much more to offer than just that. The French and Spanish each owned the state at one time or another and thanks to those colorful changes in ownership the state is a melting pot of three different cultures, which makes it a fascinating place. Moreover, I would really love to try some authentic Cajun food from the bayou.
5. Texas
Texas is another state on this list that I have never visited but again like the others, I know plenty of people who have visited and a few others who live there and it just seems like another good fit. Although the state will not pack as much of a historical punch as some of the others listed above the one thing it does have is baseball. Baseball is big in the Lone Star State and I am, as you all know, a big fan of the sport. Beyond that, the state being as big as it is has a lot to offer and it is always warm so I cannot complain there. To top it all off they say, “Everything is bigger in Texas” so a state with a slogan like that has to be fun.
6. South Carolina
You may be wondering how South Carolina fell so far since North Carolina is ranked at #2. I do like South Carolina and it does pack a historical wonder of a city in Charleston but I feel like it lacks some of the other quirks I found so lovable about the other states listed before the Palmetto State. No doubt, though South Carolina is a beautiful state with a wonderful southern appeal.
7. Virginia

Virginia is a state that I have seen a great deal of and it definitely holds a special place in my heart. It is full of history thanks in great part for it being the site of the first English colony, Jamestown in 1603, but beyond all of that, it’s full of charming cities smack-dab between the North and South. Not to mention its relationship to Washington D.C., which I have traversed many times in the past, and in fact almost, was arrested there once but that is another story. 

8. Maryland

Maryland is right there with Virginia here and mostly for its location to Washington D.C. I have not spent a whole lot of time in Maryland but from what I’ve seen it is another nice Mid Atlantic state with character. College Park seems like a wonderful sleepy little town just outside D.C. that just seems to emanate happiness. 

9. Florida

I’m genuinely not a huge fan of the Sunshine State but there’s no denying it’s a nice place to live. Orlando and Tampa are the two cities that I’ve visited and they are both great places that are continually growing and offer a lot to their citizens. Nevertheless, I’m sure you won’t be surprised when I tell you the part I like best is St. Augustine. St. Augustine is wonderful historical town on the eastern seaboard and is home to the oldest fort in America, built by the Spaniards in 1672. It may not be the most happening city in the panhandle but it has so much to offer in so many ways beyond the historical aspect that it just seems a magical place .
10. California
Similar to Florida, I’m admittedly not a huge fan of this state even though I’ve never visited. I find the fast lifestyle of southern California just wouldn’t mesh well with the type of person I am but I will say the central part of the state around San Jose and San Francisco seems like a place I could like. Not only is the weather nice year round but they are also big fans of America’s Pastime out there. I have heard so many glowing recommendation of San Francisco that it just seems like a place I need to visit and maybe a place I could one day call home.
11. Colorado
This state greatly varies in the trend of the list, as it is the first to have relatively similar weather to the current state I reside in but I think you will find these last three states deserve the exemptions, at least in my eyes. I have never been to Colorado, in fact, I have never set foot farther west than Tennessee but I have family who live there and they seem to love it. In fact, everything I read about the state seems to paint it as an awesome place to live so it sounds like a safe bet for a future home.
12. Massachusetts

Massachusetts is of course a state full of history and scenic towns all across the state but my reasoning for continuing the disruption of my trend in moving south is the city of Boston. When I visited the city a summer ago, I absolutely fell in love with it. History abounds around every turn but beyond that, there is just so much to do in the city, it seems like a never-ending playground. Add in the magnificent Boston Commons and Boston Harbor and I am sold regardless of how frigid the winter temperatures may get.

13. Maine

The last state on this list is one I absolutely would have never given a thought but after taking a day trip to Portland, things changed. I felt like I had in fact taking a trip across the pond to England. The small seaside city just looked so much like England in every aspect it was unbelievable. From the quaint little breakfast shop in the morning to the old train station just away from the harbor I felt like I had left the states for a moment. It just seems like an amazing place to call home.

Leave a Reply

