Baseball as a Metaphor

First off, I would like to thank the few of you who have been reading my blog throughout the year. Surprisingly a few of you out there do read it although I am not quite sure of your reasoning. Perhaps you are in need of a good laugh, which surely my elementary writing skills accomplish.

Anyways though, I am sure you all by now know that I am a huge baseball fan and that there is hardly a day that goes by that I do not talk about it in some facet. While some may call this an obsession I would rather call it a passion, makes it sound healthier. In all honesty, baseball and life have a lot in common and I think deep down that is another reason I am so drawn to the sport.

Baseball like life has no established time for its ending, sure both things will eventually end but they do so at a time unbeknownst to anyone ahead of time. I think that unknowing aspect of the end is part of the reason I love the game and I can certainly say I’m glad that I don’t know when I’m going to meet my end. I think that is what makes both life and baseball true adventures.

In baseball just as in life many decisions lay before us and in the course of time both good and bad will happen. Whether being caught stealing a cookie from the cookie jar or getting caught trying to steal second base, these things are bound to happen every now again. The great thing about it is that we get a chance to redeem our mistakes whether that is by baking a new batch of delicious double chocolate chip cookies or swatting a walk-off solo home run to lead your team to victory. That is the great thing about life just the same as baseball, the lack of time constraints allows for the possibility of anything to happen. Lloyd Christmas said it best, “So, you’re saying there’s a chance!”

A baseball season lasts 162 games and inherent in the fact that the season is so long every team is bound to lose some of their games just as we are all bound to have a bad day every now again. The important thing to remember is what you do after that, for a baseball team they go out and persevere to continue to play their best while in our lives we set out to do our best with our circumstances and put everything we have out there.

In the end, I realize baseball may not be as exciting for some people as compared to football, soccer or basketball but when you take a step back and look at it there is a clear reason the sport became America’s Pastime. Baseball represents everything we as American’s value in life and if I may be so bold I believe it is the living embodiment of the American dream.

If you liked this baseball themed post, I have a few others you may enjoy. Please enjoy the others posted below!

Cutest Girls in the World

Why I Prefer My Beer in a Cup

 
Leave a Reply

