The Real Meaning of No-Shave November

The month of November is a trying month for most college students as they run the final lap of the semester in preparation for finals and then a much needed month long Christmas break. However, November is also important for another reason on college campuses and that is for No Shave November. The tradition goes that guys grow out lumberjack-like beards throughout the month. Although there is no one reason or explanation for this tradition, most guys will tell you it is nice to have an excuse to not shave for a month.

I myself have participated in this tradition throughout my undergraduate and graduate school career. It was always a joyful time of the semester when I didn’t have to worry about busting out the razor every few days for a month. In fact, I even think that extra time I saved not shaving I was able to diligently apply to homework. This was my annual tradition until a few years ago when I became aware of a way to put my whiskers to good use other than looking like a lumberjack, and the event is called Movember.

Movember is derived from “No Shave November” the difference lies in that instead of not shaving your entire face for the entirety of the month you just save the moustache. A few young men in Melbourne, Australia coined the term in 1999. Then in 2004, the Movember Foundation was founded and established a worldwide fundraiser where men can grow out their moustaches to raise money throughout the month of November for men’s health awareness.

That first year the fundraiser raised $40,000 but since then the movement has grown exponentially internationally. The growth the foundation has experienced since its inception is evident, as men in over 21 countries have dedicated their moustaches in honor of Movember. Those men and their moustaches were able to raise $559 million, which is distributed to varying organizations who support men’s health.

So what I’m calling for is all you guys out there who are getting excited for the calendar to turn over to November so you don’t have to shave for a month consider growing a moustache instead. Now I know it may not be the most flattering form of facial hair out there but it is only for a month and it is for a good cause.

As for the rest of you folks, consider donating money to a worthy cause. I mean I know how much ladies love a guy with a little scruff, but how about showing some love for a guy sporting a nicely groomed moustache!

I will be the first to admit I look sufficiently awkward with a moustache but I figure I have the entirety of the other 11 months of the year to look good again, whether that is clean-shaven or with a beard. Every little bit counts.

Leave a Reply

